Our Leadership

ACEL is a member-led organization, and our volunteer Board of Directors is made up of each committee's Chair, the President, the Vice President, the Secretary, the Treasurer, the Past President, the Adviser, and Directors at Large.

The Executive Committee includes the President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, Past President, and Adviser, who each serve 2-year terms. Board members serve 1-year terms, and each June, members can nominate themselves or someone else to be considered for open board positions.

The Board meets on the fourth Tuesday of every month at 6:00 PM. Board meetings are open to all members in good standing.

Executive Committee

Frank Avery - President
CareerSource North Central Florida
Member since: 2013

Ashley Owens - Vice President
UF Health Office of Development
Member since: 2015

Chipper Flaniken - Advisor
City Church of Gainesville
Member since: 2011

Carly Hublou - Treasurer
Graduate student at the University of Florida
Member since: 2014

Magda Schmitzberger - Secretary
North Florida/South Georgia Veterans Health System
Member since 2014

Andrew RomeroPast President
Florida Department of Health
Member since: 2008  

Committee Chairs

Dave Stanton - Professional Development Chair
Member since 2017

Bryan Eastman - Public Policy Chair
Member since 2012

Michael Costanzo - Social Chair 
Breathtec Biomedical
Member since 2016

Koertni Adams - Marketing & Communications Chair 
Member since 2015

Jessica Fickett - Community Service Chair 
Mirage Sportfish Boats
Member since 2017

Marc Lefton - Membership Chair
MGC Solutions
Member since 2017

Directors At-Large

Luke Tia
Member since 2017

John-Michael Gonzales
Florida Department of Health
Member since 2013

Edgar Campa-Palafox
Alachua County - County Manager's Office
Member since: 2011